

Scotland Excel

To: Scotland Excel Joint Committee

On: 6 December 2019

Report by the Clerk

Membership of Scotland Excel Chief Executive Officers Management Group

1. Summary

- 1.1 The purpose of this report is to seek approval for the membership of Scotland Excel's Chief Executive Officers Management Group (CEOMG), a key governance body for the organisation and which has been part of Scotland Excel's governance since its inception in 2008.
- 1.2 The CEOMG comprises six Chief Executives from the Member Authorities of Scotland Excel. The Chief Executive of Renfrewshire Council is a standing member of the group due to Renfrewshire Council being the lead authority for Scotland Excel. The other five members of the Group are appointed annually by the Scotland Excel Joint Committee although membership can be renewed.
- 1.3 In August 2018 a presentation was made to the SOLACE branch group seeking a new CEOMG member due to the retiral of Mary Pitcaithly. The SOLACE Executive decided to review the overall membership, and the following nominations were received and agreed by the Joint Committee at a meeting held on 7 December 2018:

Angela Scott
Margo Williamson
Cleland Sneddon
Steve Grimmond
Annemarie O'Donnell
Sandra Black

Aberdeen City Council
Angus Council
Argyll & Bute Council
Fife Council
Glasgow City Council
Renfrewshire Council

1.4 Sandra Black continued to Chair meetings of the CEOMG in line with the CEOMG procedures.

1.5 It is proposed that the CEOMG membership remain as detailed in paragraph 1.3 above until December 2020 to allow for continuity in the strategic direction for Scotland Excel.

2. Recommendation

2.1 That the membership of the CEOMG remain as detailed in paragraph 1.3 until December 2020.