

Scotland Excel

To: Joint Committee

On: 7 December 2018

Report by the Clerk

Membership of Scotland Excel Chief Executive Officers Management Group (CEOMG)

1. Summary

1.1 The purpose of this report is to seek approval for the membership of Scotland Excel's Chief Executive Officers Management Group (CEOMG), a key governance body for the organisation.

2. Recommendation

2.1 That the Joint Committee approve the membership of the CEOMG as detailed in section 3.4 of this report.

3. Background

- 3.1 The CEOMG has been part of Scotland Excel's governance since its inception in 2008.
- 3.2 The CEOMG procedures state:
 - 1.1 The Chief Executive Officers Management Group comprises six Chief Executives from the Member Authorities of Scotland Excel. The Chief Executive of Renfrewshire Council is a standing member of the group due to Renfrewshire Council being the lead authority for Scotland Excel. The other five members of the group are appointed annually by the Scotland Excel Joint Committee although membership can be renewed.
 - 12.1 Membership of the group shall be appointed annually by the Joint Committee although membership can be renewed.
 - 12.2 To assist the Joint Committee to make appointments, the group shall seek annual nominations for membership from SOLACE Scotland and shall prepare a report on these nominations for consideration by the Joint Committee.

3.3 The current CEOMG membership is as follows:

Angela Scott Cleland Sneddon Mary Pitcaithly Annemarie O'Donnell Sandra Black (Chair) Joyce White Aberdeen City Council Argyll & Bute Council Falkirk Council Glasgow City Council Renfrewshire Council West Dunbartonshire Council.

3.4 In August 2018 a presentation was made to the SOLACE branch group seeking a new CEOMG member due to the retiral of Mary Pitcaithly. The SOLACE Executive decided to review the overall membership, and the following nominations were received:

| Angela Scott | Aberdeen City Council |
|---------------------|-----------------------|
| Margo Williamson | Angus Council |
| Cleland Sneddon | Argyll & Bute Council |
| Steve Grimmond | Fife Council |
| Annemarie O'Donnell | Glasgow City Council |
| Sandra Black | Renfrewshire Council |

3.5 Sandra Black would continue to Chair meetings of the CEOMG in line with the CEOMG procedures.