

To: Paisley East & Whitehaugh, Ralston, Hawkhead & Lochfield, Hunterhill and Charleston Local Partnership

On: 24 January 2019

Report by:

Chief Executive, Renfrewshire Council

TITLE:

Membership of Paisley East & Whitehaugh, Ralston, Hawkhead & Lochfield, Hunterhill and Charleston Local Partnership

1. Summary

1.1 The purpose of this paper is to invite standing members of the Paisley East & Whitehaugh, Ralston, Hawkhead & Lochfield, Hunterhill and Charleston Local Partnership to agree the appointment of community representatives to vacant positions within the Local Partnership.

2. **Recommendations**

- 2.1 It is recommended that standing members of Paisley East & Whitehaugh, Ralston, Hawkhead & Lochfield, Hunterhill and Charleston Local Partnership:
- (a) Consider the summary of applications received in relation to the places for community representatives on the Local Partnership which require to be filled as set out at paragraph 3.6 and;
- (b) Discuss and agree those applicants which members of the Local Partnership wish to appoint to fill the vacant community representative positions on the Local Partnership in accordance with the criteria set out in the application process and referenced at paragraph 3.5.

3. Background

- 3.1 As set out in the paper agreed by Renfrewshire Council on 27 September 2018, membership of Local Partnerships will be comprised of an equal number of elected members from Renfrewshire Council and Community Representatives.
- 3.2 The standing members of the Local Partnership are those elected members from Renfrewshire Council which represent the Local Partnership area and a

representative of active Community Councils in the area. In this Local Partnership area there are 13 eligible Renfrewshire Council members as follows:

1.	Councillor Jennifer Adam-McGregor - Chair
2.	Councillor Neill Graham
3.	Councillor Jim Sharkey
4.	Councillor Carolann Davidson
5.	Councillor Karen Kennedy
6.	Councillor Kenny MacLaren
7.	Councillor Mags MacLaren
8.	Councillor John McIntyre
9.	Councillor Carolann Davidson
10.	Councillor Will Mylet
11.	Councillor Eddie Devine
12.	Councillor Paul Mack
13.	Councillor Marie McGurk

3.3 As there are 13 elected members eligible to sit on this Local Partnership, this means there are 13 spaces for Community Representatives. Active Community Councils are automatically allocated a Community Representative space. Three of the five Community Councils in the Paisley East & Whitehaugh, Ralston, Hawkhead & Lochfield, Hunterhill and Charleston Local Partnership are active. The names of the Community Councils and their representatives are as follows:

1.	Paisley East & Whitehaugh Community Council	Helen Dykes
2.	Ralston Community Council	Allan Thompson
3.	Hawkhead & Lochfield Community Council	Rajiv Dabbea
4.	Hunterhill Community Council	Inactive
5.	Charleston Community Council	Inactive

- 3.4 This means that there are ten spaces remaining to be filled by community representatives. However, as Hunterhill and Charleston Community Councils are currently inactive, two of these spaces would require to be filled by organisations representing the Hunterhill and Charleston areas respectively. The Local Partnership may therefore nominate interim Community representatives who represent the interests of Hunterhill and Charleston to fill these spaces. In accordance with the terms of reference agreed for Local Partnerships, the appointment of the interim community representative position is done so on the basis that if a Community Council becomes active, the Community Council will then assume the place help by the interim community representative.
- 3.5 Criteria have been developed to support members to come to a decision on the appointment of community representatives. These were set out as part of the application and are as follows:
 - Size of the community the group represents
 - Mechanisms in place to communicate with the local community

• Whether a group represents or support a community of interest and how connected the group is to other community groups in the area.

3.6	Eight organisations have expressed an interest in providing a community
	representative. These are:

Applicant	Organisation	Summary of Application Information
Mary Logan	Charleston Tenants and Residents Association	Serve a community of 360 high rise flats and 110 maisonettes. Four public meetings are held per annum
John McQuade	Renfrewshire Visually Impaired Forum	20 members of the Visually Impaired Forum aged 40- 95 years. Work with the NHS and Mile End Centre, Paisley.
Nicola Hanssen	ROAR Connections For Life	Work to help older people enhance their quality of life, reduce feelings of loneliness and isolation and develop a range of preventative services to benefit older people.
Piero Pieraccini	Paisley Development Trust	Work towards the preservation and reuse of significant Paisley buildings. Work in partnership with Engage Renfrewshire, Erskine Theatre Group, YMCA, PACE Theatre and Fablevision studios. Committee of 12 people overseeing involvement of volunteers.
Peter Campbell	Hopehall Evangelical Church	Church has an open door policy and is used for activities on most days. Community café run on first Saturday of every month.
Chris Johnstone	Rainbow Turtle	Promote Fair Trade in

Applicant	Organisation	Summary of Application Information
		Renfrewshire through a website and the shop in Gauze Street, Paisley. Run educational courses in schools locally and liaise with Scottish-wide and international groups.
Elaine Loch	Paisley Opera	40-50 members of a wide age range. Engage with the local community through performances.
Susan McDonald	Active Communities	Deliver physical activity, community sport and health and wellbeing classes programmes. Age range is from 2 months to 91 years. 700 people participate in activities on a weekly basis. 18,725 attendances at classes and programmes in the last year.

Author: For more information about the report, please contact Stuart Graham, Renfrewshire Council, 0141 618 7408