

Scotland Excel

To: Joint Committee

On: 10 December 2021

Report by: The Clerk

Membership of Scotland Excel Chief Executive Officers Management Group

1. Summary

- 1.1 The purpose of this report is to seek approval for the membership of Scotland Excel's Chief Executive Officers Management Group (CEOMG), a key governance body for the organisation and which has been part of Scotland Excel's governance since its inception in 2008.
- 1.2 The CEOMG comprises six Chief Executives from the member authorities of Scotland Excel. The Chief Executive of Renfrewshire Council is a standing member of the group due to Renfrewshire Council being the lead authority for Scotland Excel. The other five members of the Group are appointed annually by the Scotland Excel Joint Committee although membership can be renewed.
- 1.3 At the meeting of the Joint Committee held on 11 December 2020 it was agreed that the membership of Scotland Excel Chief Officers Management Group (CEOMG) remain as detailed below until December 2021:

Angela Scott Aberdeen City Council

Margo Williamson Angus Council

Cleland Sneddon South Lanarkshire Council

Steve Grimmond Fife Council

Annemarie O'Donnell Glasgow City Council Sandra Black Renfrewshire Council

- 1.4 At the meeting of the Joint Committee held on 18 June 2021, it was noted that both Steve Grimmond and Margo Williamson, had intimated that they wished to stand down from the CEOMG and it was agreed that both Eddie Fraser, East Ayrshire Council and Greg Colgan, Dundee City Council become members of the CEOMG.
- 1.5 Sandra Black continued to chair meetings of the CEOMG in line with the CEOMG procedures. Sandra Black retires from Renfrewshire Council in December 2021 and Alan Russell has been appointed as Chief Executive Designate and will now be Chair of the CEOMG.

1.6 It is proposed that the CEOMG membership remain as detailed below above until December 2022 to allow for continuity in the strategic direction for Scotland Excel:

Angela Scott
Eddie Fraser
Cleland Sneddon
Greg Colgan
Annemarie O'Donnell
Alan Russell

Aberdeen City Council
East Ayrshire Council
South Lanarkshire Council
Dundee City Council
Glasgow City Council
Renfrewshire Council

2. Recommendations

- 2.1 That the membership of the CEOMG remain as detailed in paragraph 1.6 until December 2022; and
- 2.2 That it be noted that Alan Russell will chair meetings of the CEOMG.