

To: Council

On: 27th September 2018

Report by: Director of Finance and Resources

Heading: 2018 Review of UK Parliament Constituencies

1. Summary

- 1.1 The Boundary Commission for Scotland ("the Commission") have now concluded their review of the UK Parliament Constituencies and have made their final recommendations to the Secretary of State for Scotland.
- 1.2 The new constituencies will be considered for approval by Parliament.

2. Recommendations

2.1 That Council notes the outcome of the review and the next steps in the process.

3. **Background**

3.1 The 2018 Review of UK Parliamentary Constituencies ("the Review") is required by the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986 (as amended). The Review was conducted simultaneously by the four Boundary Commissions in Scotland, England, Northern Ireland and Wales. The

four Boundary Commissions have submitted their final recommendations simultaneously.

- The UK Parliament decided in 2011 that the number of parliamentary constituencies would decrease from 650 to 600. In Scotland this means a reduction from 59 constituencies to 53. Two of the 53 were not subject to review namely Na h-Eileanan an lar and Orkney and Shetland. The remaining 51 constituencies must not exceed the maximum permitted area of 13,000 square kilometres. They must also be within 5% of the UK electoral quota 74,769.2 (i.e. they must have between 71,031 and 78,507 electors).
- 3.3 The Commission's report has now been submitted to the Secretary of State for Scotland. The Government will consider the terms of the report. The matter will then come before Parliament for approval. If approved the new boundaries will be used at the next General Election which is scheduled for May 2022. A full copy of the Commission's report can be accessed at http://www.bcomm-scotland.independent.gov.uk/2018 Westminster/final recs/BCS 2018

 Review Report.pdf
- 3.4 If the Commission's proposals are accepted and approved by Parliament then Renfrewshire residents will vote in one of three constituencies; Paisley, Renfrewshire West and Garnock Valley or Clyde Coast.
- 3.5 Paisley Constituency is a burgh constituency comprising of Paisley, Renfrew and Elderslie. Renfrewshire West and Garnock Valley Constituency is a county constituency which contains Erskine, Inchinnan, Houston, Crosslea, Brookfield, Bridge of Weir, Linwood, Johnstone, Howwood, Kilbarchan and Lochwinnoch along with large parts of North Ayrshire and East Renfrewshire. The Clyde Coast Constituency is a county constituency which contains Bishopton and Langbank along with all of the Inverclyde Council area, and parts of North Ayrshire including Largs and Millport. Maps showing the extent of each of these constituencies are appended hereto.

Implications of the Report

- 1. **Financial** None
- HR & Organisational Development None.

- 3. **Community/Council Planning –** None
- 4. **Legal** None
- 5. **Property/Assets** None.
- 6. **Information Technology** None
- 7. **Equality & Human Rights** None
- 8. **Health & Safety** None
- 9. **Risk** *N/A*

List of Background Papers - None

Author: Mark Conaghan

Legal and Democratic Services Manager

0141 618 7177

mark.conaghan@renfrewshire.gov.uk





