

Notice of Meeting and Agenda Scotland Excel Joint Committee

Date	Time	Venue
Friday, 08 December 2023	10:00	Remotely by MS teams,

MARK CONAGHAN Clerk

To Follow Item

I refer to the agenda for the meeting of the Scotland Excel Joint Committee to be held on 8 December 2023 at 10.00 am and enclose the undernoted report relative to item 10 previously marked 'to follow':

Membership

Councillor Shaw (Convener) and Councillor Altany Craik (Vice Convener)

Councillor Alex McLellan and Councillor Sandra Macdonald (Aberdeen City Council); Councillor David Keating and Councillor Alastair Forsyth (Aberdeenshire Council); Councillor Brenda Durno (Angus Council); Councillor William Sinclair (Argyll and Bute Council); Councillor Adam McVey and Councillor Mandy Watt (City of Edinburgh Council); Councillor Ellen Forson (Clackmannanshire Council); Councillor Kenny Macleod (Comhairle Nan Eilean Siar); Councillor Carolyn Wilson (Dumfries and Galloway Council); Councillor Heather Anderson (Dundee City Council); Councillor Stephen Canning (East Ayrshire Council); Councillor Calum Smith (East Dunbartonshire Council); Councillor John McMillan (East Lothian Council); Councillor Tony Buchanan (East Renfrewshire Council); Councillor Margaret Anslow (Falkirk Council); Councillor Ross Vettraino (Fife Council); Councillor Ruairi Kelly and Councillor Rashid Hussain (Glasgow City Council); Councillor Derek Louden and vacancy (Highland Council); Councillor Martin McCluskey (Inverclyde Council); Councillor Colin Cassidy (Midlothian Council); Councillor Neil McLennan (Moray Council); Councillor Christina Larsen (North Ayrshire Council); Councillor Michael McPake and Councillor Denis Johnston (North Lanarkshire Council); Councillor Sheila McCole (Perth and Kinross Council); Councillor Mark Rowley (Scottish Borders Council); Councillor Dennis Leask (Shetland Islands Council); Councillor Chris Cullen (South Ayrshire Council): Councillor Eileen Logan and Councillor Walter Brogan (South Lanarkshire Council); Councillor Rachel Nunn (Stirling Council); Councillor Daniel Lennie (West Dunbartonshire Council); and Councillor Anne McMillan (West Lothian Council).

Items of business

10 Membership of Scotland Excel Executive Sub-committee 5 - 8
Report by Clerk.

Page 4 of 8



Scotland Excel

To: Joint Committee

On: 8 December 2023

Report by: The Clerk

Membership of Scotland Excel Executive Sub-committee

1 Summary

- 1.1 The membership of the Scotland Excel Executive Sub-committee is renewed annually.
- 1.2 The purpose of this report is to seek the Joint Committee's approval to the continued appointment of the existing membership of the Sub-committee. At the time of issue of the report, Comhairle nan Eilean Sar has not confirmed that it wishes to continue membership of the Executive Sub-committee for a further year. It should be noted that due to a recent severe cyber-attack it has not been possible to make contact with Comhairle nan Eilean Sar in order to confirm its position.

2 Recommendations

- 2.1 That, subject to Comhairle nan Eilean Sar confirming its position, the Joint Committee agree that the members of the Executive Sub-committee shall continue to come from those Councils listed in paragraph 3.3 of the report; and
- 2.2 That membership of the Executive Sub-committee be next reviewed at the meeting of the Joint Committee in December 2024.

3 Background

- 3.1 The Scotland Excel Terms and Conditions document signed by all member councils provides that there shall be an Executive Sub-committee with the role and functions of the Sub-committee to be determined by the Joint Committee.
- 3.2 In June 2022, the Joint Committee agreed to increase the number of members of the Sub-committee from 13 to 14 to include both the Convener and Vice Convener and the Procedural Standing Orders for the Joint Committee were amended to reflect that change. However, the new arrangements remained subject to the requirement that where possible the membership of the Executive Sub-committee shall reflect the geographic diversity of the constituent authorities.
- 3.3 It was decided at that meeting that the membership of the Executive Sub-committee should comprise elected members from the following Councils and that this be next reviewed in December 2022. At the meeting of the Joint Committee held on 9 December 2022, it was decided that the membership of the Executive Sub-committee continue to comprise elected members from the following Councils and that this be next reviewed in December 2023:-

Angus

Aberdeenshire

City of Edinburgh

Comhairle nan Eilean Sar

Dumfries & Galloway

Fife

Glasgow City

Highland

North Ayrshire

North Lanarkshire

Renfrewshire

South Ayrshire

South Lanarkshire

Shetland Islands

3.4 The Joint Committee is requested to consider the appointment of members to the Executive Sub-committee for the period to December 2024 when it is proposed that the membership would be reviewed.

3.5	The main function of the Executive Sub-committee is to consider and decide upon the award of contracts and frameworks. The proposal to continue with the existing membership will ensure that the knowledge and experience built up over the lifetime of the current arrangements is not lost or diluted.

Page 8 of 8