

Minute of Meeting Local Partnership - Paisley North, Gallowhill, Ferguslie and Paisley West & Central

Date	Time	Venue
Thursday, 24 January 2019	10:00	Corporate Meeting Room 1, Council Headquarters, Renfrewshire House, Cotton Street, Paisley, PA1 1AN

Present

Mike Dillon (Paisley North Community Council): Councillor Karen Kennedy: Councillor Cathy McEwan; John McIntyre (Ferguslie Community Council): Councillor John McNaughtan and William Swanson (substitute for John Wilby, Paisley West & Central Community Council).

Chair

Councillor John McNaughtan, Chair, presided.

In Attendance

L McIntyre, Head of Policy and Commissioning, A Morrison (Head of Regeneration) (Lead Officer), A Armstrong-Walter, Strategic Partnerships and Inequalities Manager and S Graham, Partnerships Planning and Development Manager (all Chief Executive's Service); and D Low, Senior Committee Services Officer and K O'Neill, Assistant Democratic Services Officer (both Finance & Resources).

Also in Attendance

K McIntyre, Engage Renfrewshire.

Apology

J Wilby, Paisley West & Central Community Council.

Declarations of Interest

W Swanson, Paisley West & Central Community Council declared a non-financial interest in item 1 on the agenda as two of the applicants for membership of the Local Partnership were also members of Paisley West & Central Community Council. He intimated that he would remain in the meeting but not take part in the discussion or decision relative to the two applications.

Membership of Paisley North, Gallowhill, Ferguslie and Paisley West& Central Local Partnership

There was submitted a report by the Chief Executive relative to the appointment of community representatives to vacant positions within the Local Partnership.

The report advised that in terms of the decision taken at the meeting of the Council held on 27 September 2018 membership of the Local Partnerships would be comprised of an equal number of elected members from Renfrewshire Council and community representatives with the standing members being those elected members which represented the Local Partnership area and a representative of each active community councils in the area. The 10 elected members eligible for membership of the Paisley North, Gallowhill, Ferguslie and Paisley West & Central Local Partnership were detailed together with the representatives of the three active Community Councils in the area. As a result, there were currently seven vacancies for community representatives.

Details of 13 organisations who had, to date, expressed an interest in providing a community representative on the Local Partnership were provided within the report. Criteria to assist members to come to a decision on the appointment of community representation was also provided.

The report intimated that the Gallowhill Community Council was currently inactive and it was agreed that the vacant position for the Community Council be left open to allow community groups from that area to apply for membership of the Local Partnership.

The Strategic Partnerships and Inequalities Manager advised that one of the applicants, representing Paisley Sea Cadets, had been included in this Local Partnership area in error and accordingly should not be considered at this meeting.

The members then considered the remaining applications received.

Councillor McNaughtan moved that Alan Clark (CREATE Paisley), Alison Love (Disability Arts Forum), Christine Williams (Renfrewshire Effort to Empower Minorities), Darran Gillan (YMCA) and Heather Kay (Star Project) be appointed to the Local Partnership. This was agreed unanimously.

Councillor McNaughtan, seconded by Councillor McEwan, moved that Margaret Dymond (Maxwellton Court Tenants' Association) be appointed to the sixth and final available community representative place of the Local Partnership.

Councillor Kennedy, seconded by J McIntyre, moved as an amendment that Morven Cruikshank (Renfewshire Access Panel) be appointed to the sixth and final available community representative place of the Local Partnership.

On a vote being taken, three members voted for the motion, two members voted for the

amendment and one member abstained. The motion was accordingly declared carried.

Councillor McNaughtan proposed that Community Planning contact those applicants who had not been successful in their applications to become members of the Local Partnership and set out the opportunities available to them to participate in the business of the Local Partnership on a non-voting basis. This was agreed.

DECIDED:

- (a) That the vacant position for the inactive Gallowhill Community Council be left open to allow community groups from that area to apply for membership of the Local Partnership;
- (b) That Alan Clark (CREATE Paisley), Alison Love (Disability Arts Forum), Christine Williams (Renfrewshire Effort to Empower Minorities), Darran Gillan (YMCA), Heather Kay (Star Project) and Margaret Dymond (Maxwellton Court Tenants' Association) be appointed to the Local Partnership; and
- (c) That Community Planning contact those applicants who had not been successful in their applications to become members of the Local Partnership and set out the opportunities available to them to participate in the business of the Local Partnership on a non-voting basis.

2 Date of Next meeting

<u>DECIDED</u>: That the next meeting of the Local Partnership be held in Renfrewshire House at 6.00 pm on a date to be agreed by the majority of the Local Partnership members.