

Notice of Meeting and Agenda Local Partnership - Erskine, Inchinnan, Bishopton & Langbank

Date	Time	Venue
Tuesday, 29 January 2019	10:00	Corporate Meeting Room 2, Council Headquarters, Renfrewshire House, Cotton Street, Paisley, PA1 1AN

Councillor Michelle Campbell Chair

Membership

Elected Members

Councillor Tom Begg: Councillor Natalie Don: Councillor Jim Harte: Councillor James MacLaren: Councillor Colin McCulloch: Councillor Iain Nicolson:

Community Representatives

Sam Mullin (Erskine Community Council): John Ross (Inchinnan Community Council): David Woodrow (Bishopton Community Council): Neil Barrington (Langbank Community Council)

Councillor Michelle Campbell, Chair

Further Information

This is a meeting which is open to members of the public.

A copy of the agenda and reports for this meeting will be available for inspection prior to the meeting at the Customer Service Centre, Renfrewshire House, Cotton Street, Paisley and online at http://renfrewshire.cmis.uk.com/renfrewshire/CouncilandBoards.aspx
For further information, please either email democratic-services@renfrewshire.gov.uk or telephone 0141 618 7112.

Members of the Press and Public

Members of the press and public wishing to attend the meeting should report to the customer service centre where they will be met and directed to the meeting.

Items of business

Apologies

Apologies from members.

Declarations of Interest

Members are asked to declare an interest in any item(s) on the agenda and to provide a brief explanation of the nature of the interest.

1 Appointment of Community Representatives to the 1 - 4 Erskine, Inchinnan, Bishopton and Langbank Local Partnership

Report by the Chief Executive inviting members of the Erskine, Inchinnan, Bishopton and Langbank Local Partnership to agree the appointment of community representatives to vacant positions within the Local Partnership.

2 Date of Next Meeting

Strategic Partnerships and Inequalities Manager to report.



To: Erskine, Inchinnan, Bishopton and Langbank Local Partnership

On: 29 January 2019

Report by:

Chief Executive, Renfrewshire Council

TITLE:

Membership of Erskine, Inchinnan, Bishopton and Langbank Local Partnership

1. Summary

1.1 The purpose of this paper is to invite standing members of Erskine, Inchinnan, Bishopton and Langbank Local Partnership to agree the appointment of community representatives to vacant positions within the Local Partnership.

2. Recommendations

- 2.1 It is recommended that standing members of Erskine, Inchinnan, Bishopton and Langbank Local Partnership:
- (a) Consider the summary of applications received in relation to the places for community representatives on the Local Partnership which require to be filled, as set out at paragraph 3.6 and;
- (b) Discuss and agree those applicants which members of the Local Partnership wish to appoint to fill the vacant community representative positions on the Local Partnership in accordance with the criteria set out in the application process and referenced at paragraph 3.5.

3. **Background**

3.1 As set out in the paper agreed by Renfrewshire Council on 27 September 2018, membership of Local Partnerships will be comprised of an equal number of elected members from Renfrewshire Council and Community Representatives.

3.2 The standing members of the Local Partnership are those elected members from Renfrewshire Council which represent the Local Partnership area and a representative of active Community Councils in the area. In this Local Partnership area there are seven eligible Renfrewshire Council members as follows:

1.	Councillor Michelle Campbell - Chair
2.	Councillor Natalie Don
3.	Councillor James MacLaren
4.	Councillor Colin McCulloch
5.	Councillor Tom Begg
6.	Councillor Jim Harte
7.	Councillor Iain Nicolson

3.3 As there are seven elected members eligible to sit on this Local Partnership, this means there are seven spaces for Community Representatives. Active Community Councils are automatically allocated a Community Representative space. All four of the Community Councils in the Erskine, Inchinnan, Bishopton and Langbank Local Partnership are active. The names of the Community Councils and their representatives are as follows:

1.	Erskine Community Council	Sam Mullin
2.	Inchinnan Community Council	John Ross
3.	Bishopton Community Council	David Woodrow
4.	Langbank Community Council	Neil Barrington

- 3.4 This means that there are three spaces remaining to be filled by community representatives.
- 3.5 Criteria have been developed to support members to come to a decision on the appointment of community representatives. These were set out as part of the application and are as follows:
 - Size of the community the group represents.
 - Mechanisms in place to communicate with the local community.
 - Whether a group represents or support a community of interest and how connected the group is to other community groups in the area.

3.6 Three organisations have expressed an interest in providing a community representative. These are:

Applicant	Organisation	Summary of Application Information
Jacqui Reid	Erskine Development Trust	Erskine Development Trust has over 100 volunteers. Host evening meetings and afternoon information sessions at Erskine Library. Assist other community groups in the area.
Ali Whitty	Erskine Music and Media Studio (EMMS)	EMMS has five Directors, 4 staff and a studio crew of 10. Around 95 people participate in a range of activities on a weekly basis. The core target group is ages 8-24. EMMS is active on social media and has very strong connections with most of the community groups in the area.
Heather Clissett	Erskine Community Garden	Aims to create and develop an area for all of the community to enjoy and interact and have undertaken litter picks for 10 years. The group has a membership of 86 and around 60 volunteers and is active daily on FaceBook and Twitter. The group works with other community groups including Erskine Music and Media Studio, Erskine and District Rotary, Erskine Community Council, Crossreach School, Erskine Youth Football Club, Erskine Hospital and others.

Author: : For more information about the report, please contact Stuart Graham, Renfrewshire Council, 0141 618 7408

Page 4 of 4
1 ago 1 ol 1