

Scotland Excel

To: Joint Committee

On: 11 December 2020

Report by: The Clerk

Membership of Scotland Excel Chief Executive Officers Management Group

1. Summary

- 1.1 The purpose of this report is to seek approval for the membership of Scotland Excel's Chief Executive Officers Management Group (CEOMG), a key governance body for the organisation and which has been part of Scotland Excel's governance since its inception in 2008.
- 1.2 The CEOMG comprises six Chief Executives from the member authorities of Scotland Excel. The Chief Executive of Renfrewshire Council is a standing member of the group due to Renfrewshire Council being the lead authority for Scotland Excel. The other five members of the Group are appointed annually by the Scotland Excel Joint Committee although membership can be renewed.
- 1.3 In August 2018 a presentation was made to the SOLACE branch group seeking a new CEOMG member due to the retiral of Mary Pitcaithly. The SOLACE Executive decided to review the overall membership, and the following nominations were received and agreed by the Joint Committee at a meeting held on 7 December 2018:

Angela Scott Aberdeen City Council

Margo Williamson Angus Council

Cleland Sneddon South Lanarkshire Council

Steve Grimmond Fife Council

Annemarie O'Donnell Glasgow City Council Sandra Black Renfrewshire Council

1.4 At the meeting of the Joint Committee held on 6 December 2019 it was agreed that the membership remain as detailed in paragraph 1.3 above until December 2020.

- 1.5 Sandra Black continued to Chair meetings of the CEOMG in line with the CEOMG procedures.
- 1.6 It is proposed that the CEOMG membership remain as detailed in paragraph 1.3 above until December 2021 to allow for continuity in the strategic direction for Scotland Excel.

2. Recommendation

2.1 That the membership of the CEOMG remain as detailed in paragraph 1.3 until December 2021.