

Scotland Excel

To: Joint Committee

On: 8 December 2023

Report by: The Clerk

Membership of Scotland Excel Chief Executive Officers Management Group

1. Summary

- 1.1 The purpose of this report is to seek approval for the membership of Scotland Excel's Chief Executive Officers Management Group (CEOMG), a key governance body for the organisation and which has been part of Scotland Excel's governance since its inception in 2008.
- 1.2 The CEOMG comprises six Chief Executives from the member authorities of Scotland Excel. The Chief Executive of Renfrewshire Council is a standing member of the group due to Renfrewshire Council being the lead authority for Scotland Excel. The other five members of the Group are appointed annually by the Scotland Excel Joint Committee although membership can be renewed.
- 1.3 The procedures for the CEOMG state that:
 - 12.2 To assist the Joint Committee to make appointments, the Group shall seek annual nominations for membership from Solace Scotland and shall prepare a report on these nominations for consideration by the Joint Committee.
- 1.4 The Chief Executive of Scotland Excel submitted a report to the meeting of the Solace Scotland Branch on 24 November 2023 relative to membership of the CEOMG, as Cleland Sneddon, Chief Executive of South Lanarkshire Council, would be retiring in January 2024. At that meeting, Solace nominated David Robertson, Chief Executive of Scottish Borders Council, as a member of the CEOMG, replacing Cleland.

- 1.5 Current members of the CEOMG have confirmed their membership of the group for a further year and Solace has approved these nominations for a further year. This allows for continuity in the strategic direction for Scotland Excel.
- 1.6 It is proposed that the CEOMG membership be as detailed below until December 2024:

Angela Scott
David Robertson
Greg Colgan
Eddie Fraser
Annemarie O'Donnell
Alan Russell
Aberdeen City Council
Scottish Borders Council
Dundee City Council
East Ayrshire Council
Renfrewshire Council

1.6 Alan Russell chairs meetings of the CEOMG in line with the CEOMG procedures.

2. Recommendations

- 2.1 That the membership of the CEOMG, as detailed in paragraph 1.5, be agreed until December 2024; and
- 2.2 That it be noted that Alan Russell will chair meetings of the CEOMG.